Most Recent Posts


IBMA Announces Wide Open Bluegrass 2016 Line-up

The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) released an initial list of performers for PNC presents Wide Open Bluegrass, which takes place Sept. 30-Oct. 1 in Raleigh, North Carolina. This year’s lineup showcases an array of bluegrass styles, from traditional to progressive, and from emerging artists to IBMA Hall of Famers.

Wide Open Bluegrass is an urban bluegrass event that includes both ticketed main stage performances at Raleigh’s Red Hat Amphitheater and free stages. A portion of proceeds from the ticket sales of Red Hat Amphitheater go to the IBMA-operated Bluegrass Trust Fund, a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization that provides financial assistance to individuals in the bluegrass music community in times of emergency need.

The festival is part of IBMA’s World of Bluegrass events, which begin at the Raleigh Convention Center Tuesday, September 27. A second round of performers and special collaborations for Wide Open Bluegrass will be announced in the coming months.

The lineup for Wide Open Bluegrass, as announced so far (in alphabetical order by first name, scheduling to be determined later):

Friday, September 30

  • Dailey & Vincent. Multiple IBMA Award winners and Grammy nominees Dailey & Vincent perform their entertaining mix of bluegrass, country and gospel music.
  • Jerry Douglas Presents The Earls of Leicester. Dobro master Jerry Douglas and his bluegrass supergroup The Earls of Leicester return as the 2015 IBMA Entertainers of the Year, ready to share material from their upcoming release on Rounder Records, Rattle and Roll.
  • Laurie Lewis & the Right Hands. A two-time IBMA Female Vocalist of the Year, Lewis is one of the leading singers and songwriters in bluegrass music today. Special guest to be announced later.
  • Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives. Five-time Grammy-winning multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter Marty Stuart explores the crossroads of bluegrass and traditional country.
  • Nitty Gritty Dirt Band. As part of their 50th anniversary tour, the iconic and profoundly influential Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, often cited as a catalyst for an entire movement in country, rock and American roots music, will draw from their legendary catalog of hit songs. Their groundbreaking 1972 Will The Circle Be Unbroken album has been inducted into the U.S. Library of Congress and the Grammy Hall of Fame. Special guests to be announced later.
  • The Peter Rowan Bluegrass Band. Rowan’s storied career in bluegrass music spans more than five decades, from his early years with Bill Monroe’s Blue Grass Boys to his time in Old & in the Way with Jerry Garcia to fronting his own bluegrass band.
  • Soggy Bottom Boys. For fans of the blockbuster film O Brother, Where Art Thou? and its Grammy-winning soundtrack hit “Man of Constant Sorrow,” the Soggy Bottom Boys unite for a rare live performance. The band features Dan Tyminski (singing voice for actor George Clooney), Barry Bales, Ron Block of Alison Krauss & Union Station and Pat Enright, Mike Compton, and Stuart Duncan of the Nashville Bluegrass Band.

Saturday, October 1

  • Becky Buller Band. Current IBMA Songwriter of the Year and Emerging Artist of the Year, Becky Buller is quickly rising among the ranks of bluegrass music’s premier singers and songwriters.
  • Greensky Bluegrass. Highlighting the genre’s progressive side, Greensky Bluegrass explores the creative space between tradition and innovation, formula and improvisation and bluegrass and rock sensibilities.
  • John Cowan with Darin & Brooke Aldridge. Newgrass music pioneer and Doobie Brother John Cowan teams up with North Carolina’s own bluegrass duo Darin & Brooke Aldridge for a special set, with other guests to be announced.
  • Larry Sparks & The Lonesome Ramblers. Larry Sparks is IBMA’s newest inductee into its Bluegrass Hall of Fame, with 50+ years in the industry.
  • Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out. Celebrating 25 years with a chart topping album, It’s About Tyme, Moore is the IBMA’s most awarded Male Vocalist of the Year (5-time career).
  • Steep Canyon Rangers. Grammy-winning Steep Canyon Rangers are enjoying the success of their ninth studio album, RADIO, a project that further illustrates the band’s dynamic songwriting, instrumental virtuosity and high-energy performance. Recorded at Asheville, NC’s Echo Mountain Recording Studio, RADIO was produced by Jerry Douglas.
  • The Del McCoury Band. A true American icon and most awarded band in the history of bluegrass.
  • Kruger Brothers. Fan favorites and acoustic music innovators, The Kruger Brothers are cooking up a very special program for the festival, with details to be announced later.